A Lot of Movie Reviews

Heelllooo. I’m not a movie buff or anything like that, but this month, I’ve watched about 20 movies already. Maybe more. So this is just a short recap/review of every movie I’ve watched so far. Most of the reviews are no more than 10 lines

Home. (2015) – Awwww. I loved this one. It was very very sweet. It was also funny. It’s a story of friendship, family, and forgiveness (alliteration not intended.) The Boov move to inhabit planet earth to escape from their enemies, The Gorg. There’s Oh, who always gets into one scrape or another and Tip, who doesn’t get transported by the Boov because her cat was covering her. Together they try to escape from the Boov, Tip to find her mother and Oh, because he’s a wanted fugitive. Learning point, asides the 3 fs, is that sometimes people that seem hard on the outside are very small and warm on the inside. The hard exterior is just a cover. Made me tear up a little. 10 stars

Home Sweet Hell (2015) – Ha ha ha. I loved this one. Hilarious. Also, people keep comparing it to Gone Girl, but not really. They don’t have the same arch. Anyway, this was funny, but the drama usually overshadowed the humour. Don Champagne is married to Mona Champagne and they have two perfect kids in their perfect house. Mona likes everything to be perfect and has a book of goals. Everything is scheduled, including when to have sex (which is like 6 times a year.) With Mona, everything is planned out, nothing is left to chance and there’s no spontaneity. Mona’s perfect little life and goals become threatened when Dusty starts working at DOn’s furniture store as a sales girl, they have an affair and she gets pregnant. Mona will stop at nothing to mantain her perfect life. 8 stars

The Trials of Cate McCall (2013) – I liked this one. A woman is struggling with her alcoholism, trying to get her child back, working to get her career back. She’s haunted by a mistake she made, putting an innocent man behind bars for 17 years. She has to do a probono case as a form of restitution. Her new case is a habeas corpus for a girl sentenced to life for murder. She got the girl released, but it turned out the girl actually did murder the person. Cate then struggled with what to do. sHould she try to let it go, or should she try to get the girl back in prison. The title is very apt. (her sob story was too good., anyone would have believed, I believed her) 8 stars

Bachelor Night (2014) – Hilarious, but stupid. Didn’t make any sense whatsoever, but Vegas, a lot of alcohol, naked people and of course, 2 people who weren’t supposed to get married got drunk and did. Also a lesson in not changing who are, just to be with someone. 6 stars

My Awkward Sexual Adventure (2012) _ interesting, girlfriend (Rachel) is a psycho. Glad Jordan left her for Julia. IN everything, I learnt that you should always be yourself in a relationship and don’t change for anyone. Except you’re an asshole like Rachel, then change. 8 stars

The Conjuring (2013) – DNF

The Thomas Crown Affair (1999) – A remake of a 1968 movie of the same title. Interesting. There’s a scene at the end that you can’t even begin to imagine. Great movie. 8 stars

What Maisie Knew (2012) – Also made me tear up a little. I really liked the movie. I really didn’t know what to expect with this one but I liked it. The story is sweet. Maisie is a little girl whose parents got divorced and they were always bickering. Her dad married her nanny Margo after a while then took off to Europe leaving both of them alone. Her mum also married some guy (Lincoln) and then took off on a tour basically abandoning her child. Margo and Lincoln take better care of Maisie than her parents do and she spends most of her time with Margo and Lincoln. Her parents are terrible parents. I loved how it ended. Maisie’s performance was really great. One of the best child performances I’ve ever seen. 9 stars

No Strings Attached (2011) – Meh. I love rom-coms, but this one fell flat. I didn’t really enjoy it. Mindy Kaling was in it though and she was funny as usual. Mindy can do no wrong.  4 stars

Two Night Stand (2014) – I loved this one. It made me laugh so much and it was so cute and sweet and awwwwwwwww. 8 stars

The Odd Life of Timothy Green (2012) – I reaaaaallllyyyy loved this one. The story was very sweet and the beginning was a little weird and unbelievable, but once you get over that you’d love it. It was really emotional and another great performance by a child. I loved it. 9 stars

Carnal Innocence (2011) – Based on a book of the same title by Nora Roberts. I don’t know who had the bright idea to do this but nope. The acting was terrible. 1 star

You, Me and Dupree (2006) – Eh. It was okay. The end was sweet. 6 stars

The Single Moms Club (2014) – For a Tyler Perry movie. I actually really liked it. It wasn’t the usual stereotypical black movie. Great story. Interesting characters. Bonus points for diversity. 8 stars

Because I Said So (2007) – Mother who is too involved in her only unmarried daughter’s life puts out an ad for a blind date. She meets all the men and selects one to meet her daughter. Great movie. Gabriel Macht (Harvey in Suits) is in it, so bonus points.  8 stars

Ask Me Anything (2014)- Based on a book (Undiscovered Gyrl) by Allison Burnett. I’m not really sure how I feel about this one. Interesting story, but I don’t get the point of the end. I don’t really like how it ended. OST is awesome though. Loved it  5 stars

The Six Wives of Henry Lefay (2009) – I enjoyed this one. It was a mix of comedy and drama. Henry Lefay is on his fifth marriage (or sixth depending on who you ask). He goes on vacation to some island (can’t remember) and is thought to be dead. Trouble ensues when all his ex-wives want to decide where and how he should be buried (or cremated) amongst other things. His only child (daughter) has to manage all the drama while trying to mourn her father. 7 stars.

Big Hero 6 (2014) – This is probably my current favourite movie. I loved it. I can’t really explain it without giving away spoilers and I don’t want to ruin it for anyone that hasn’t watched it so let me just say that the story is a beautiful story with a great main character and you’ll probably tear up at the end. Best part of it is the science. 10 stars

Eurotrip (2004) – This is sort of like American Pie meets a road trip (couldn’t think of any road trip/travel movie, sorry). Anyway, main character (Scottie) has a penpal in Germany. His girlfriend breaks up with him on the day of his graduation from high school. His bestfriend tells him his penpal is a guy that’d try to meetup and rape him so he gets drunk and sends email telling penpal never to reach him again. He later finds out he has made a mistake and his penpal is actually a hot chick who is also in love with him and he decides to go to Europe to find her. Very interesting things happen. 7 stars

30 Days in Atlanta (2014) – I was prepared to not enjoy the movie, but I was pleasantly surprised. The only thing that put me off was Ramsey Noah’s fake accent. I cringed a lot most of the time that he spoke. And was it me, or did that Kimberly babe look like Kim Kardashian. 8 stars

Dallas Buyers Club (2014) – This movie is awesome. Now I understand why it won all those awards. The acting was tooooo good. Everybody killed it. Everybody. I was veeeery shocked when I saw that Jared Leto was the one who acted the role of Rayon. Matthew McCirkjkkildj was also very impressive. And I read that it was a low budget movie. It’s also amazing that it’s based on a true story. The subject matter isn’t light though. 10 stars.

Christmas Cupid (2010) – Sort of remake of the classic Dickens story. Ghosts visit. You have till Christmas to change your ways. This time, it’s a girl named Sloane. She has to change her ways and be more sensitive to her friends and her mother and their needs and stop placing work and a promotion above them or she will end up alone and die young. 6 stars

The Wedding Ringer (2015) – Ha ha. This one was hilarious but also emotional. It was very  interesting. Kevin Hart brought it. 8 stars

The Croods (2013) – Great story, great graphics. There’s suspense, comedy, a little romance. 9 stars

Focus (2015) – This movie was very impressive. What interested me most was the psychology behind the $2million con. Will Smith did a very good job. Same with Margot Robbie. Some of the conversations towards the end will be unexpected and will make you laugh 9 stars

Tammy (2014) – It’s a sweet movie. The story itself didn’t make much sense. But it’s fun, it’s funny and they blow shit up. 4 stars

Have you seen any of these movies, what did you think.

9 thoughts on “A Lot of Movie Reviews

  1. I have seen 12 out of this list. Lots of laughs, tears and intense moments combined. Single mom’s club; that jaguda woman was my fave! The Odd life of Timothy green; loved it. I sort of expected more from Focus but it was okay.

    Off to watch because I said so and might watch home sweet hell later in the week.

    Love this mini review 🙂

    Like

  2. Dallas Buyers Club is one of my favorite movies ever, not necessarily because of the story but the acting was impeccable. Its why I’m looking forward to seeing Jared Leto as the Joker next year. Talking about good acting, have you seen Birdman?

    Like

  3. I’ve watched so many of these! And I’m not even a movie buff; I fee foofeed. 😂 I love the Odd Life of Timothy Green and I really enjoyed 30 days in Atlanta. I’ve watched Because I said so close to six times now (Mnet kept playing it) but that was so long ago now. It’s so cute and funny! I didn’t make it through Tammy and I thought No strings attached was cute (it’s probably the doctor angle). The Wedding Ringer is Hilarious! Going to check out the other movies whenever I get a holiday. This was nice.

    Like

  4. Wow. That’s a lot of movies. I waaannnttt! I actually have had Single Moms Club for a while, but I haven’t watched it, I can’t think why. I haven’t watched any of the others except The Odd Life of Timothy Green but I’d like to.

    Like

    • Lol. Unfortunately because of space constraints, I delete as I watch. I only left a couple of them (about 6 or 7) because I enjoyed them too much. Did you enjoy the Timothy Green movie?

      Like

What Do You Think

