Inbox by Google: A Long Overdue Review

Inbox-by-GoogleHello people.
Happy new year and all that jazz.
This year is going by so quickly and this is my first actual post of 2015.

This has been sitting in my drafts since last year (December 17).

Let’s get to it.
I’ve been using Inbox by Google (or Inbox by Gmail) since November last year. This was supposed to be Inbox by Google: One Month After.

Inbox by Gmail (or Inbox by Google) is a [not so] new email app from the Gmail team. It is an organised place to get things done and get back to what matters. Inbox by Gmail requires an invite.

I love Inbox and I love Google. Inbox obviously has advantages and disadvantages.

Things I Love About Inbox

• Bundles: I like how Inbox automatically bundles emails into categories and you can create new ones and all the emails automatically go into their bundles.

• Pins and Swipes: the interface is very clean and easy to use. I like that I can declutter my inbox with one swipe. Swiping right means that the email disappears into my archives and I’m only left with the emails I want to see. Swiping left means I can snooze the email to popup at a later time as a reminder. So I can set a reminder to reply someone’s email at whatever time or day I choose.
I can pin important things to the Inbox so that I can swipe the other things I’m not interested in away.

What I Don’t Like
• Connecting with Drive: Inbox shows you attachments without you opening the emails which is great, but I can’t save my attachments directly to drive. I first have to open Gmail and then save to drive from there. This is very annoying for me because I have to write and edit a lot and I usually do that with drive.

• Loosing my place: whenever you read an email in a bundle, and you swipe it away, the bundle goes lower if there’s a newer (more recent) email in another bundle. So for example, if I’m reading an email in the Updates bundle and I swipe away, if I leave the app and come back, a newer email in the Promos bundle would push down the Updates bundle. This is very very annoying.

Random things.
I like the compose button. I don’t know why. I just like it.
I like how it looks. It’s just very beautiful. It may be a bit weird to get used to on a PC, but it’s fine still.
I like how it shows you the people you email most once you tap or hover the mouse over the compose button.
I like that I can set reminders.

I think that Google really needs to fix the thing with not being able to save to drive and then I’ll never need to open Gmail again.

If you want to use the app, you can leave a comment, tweet at me or DM me @deaduramilade or you can send me an email ltawaq@gmail.com with your email address and I’ll send you one.

You can also get an invite by emailing inbox@google.com

The app is available for android and iOS devices.

Do you or have you used Inbox by Google. What do you think?

[P.S. thanks to everyone that still checks on me and the blog regularly. For someone that hasn’t had a post up here this year, I have been getting a lot of views and likes. Special shout out to Ekene and Afoma]

4 thoughts on “Inbox by Google: A Long Overdue Review

What Do You Think

