Random Ramblings on a Rainy Saturday

Hello people.

So this post is just random things I’ve been thinking about or I’ve thought about recently.
This rant will mostly be about books. This is not a book review but it is mostly about books.

1. Whenever I say that Ghana Must Go sucked and is very overrated, people give me this weird look like: “you have betrayed the gods of the black – African for that matter, woman”. A travesty.

Why can’t I decide that I don’t like a book and that it is absolute crap – which I really truly believe it is. That book was exhausting and underwhelming. I wrote a review here.

2. On this same matter, when a woman messes up, why can’t I say that she has messed up without some angry person coming at me telling me that I’m setting women back. WHY CAN’T I SAY IT AS I SEE IT. If I believe what you’re doing is crap, that’s what I believe. Leave it yeah.

3. I love Nnedi Okorafor. I’ve read Akata Witch, Zarah the Windseeker and Who Fears Death. And I love them. All of them. But I’m currently reading Lagoon and it pains me to say that this book sucks. This book is just a subfest. She’s like “You get a sub, you get a sub, here’s one for you. And you. You get one too. EVERYBODY GETS A FREAKING SUB.” There is no story. I don’t see the story. All I see is subs.
I tweeted as much. And then she replied me. It wasn’t a nice reply. It was an annoying reply. She went all: “you know twitter is public right” or something. I wanted to go all: “No shit” but I decided to leave it.
Dear authors: If someone gives a negative review of your book on the internet, (especially if they didn’t bring your attention to said review. For example they do not specifically tweet at you and say something negative about your book) for the love of God and all things good please do not engage them. Leave it alone. Not everyone will like your book. The only reason you should engage them is if you’re going to engage in a constructive discussion with said person.

4. I’m reading On Black Sisters’ Street by Chika Unigwe. The beginning of this book is making me cry because it is boring. Jesus. Everyone keeps saying I should keep going on. That the beginning is boring and it will be worth it in the end. I hope so.

5. I was at Seun Salami’s book reading for The Sex Life of a Lagos Mad Woman

image

I got it as a birthday gift for myself. (Birthday’s on Monday.  Whoooop.)

6. I finally had time to watch Season 2 of Orange Is The New Black and it was awesome. I liked that we saw more of everyone’s back story and I loved how they got rid of V. Awesome stuff.

7. I am making the most amazing friends who are doing the most amazing things. One of such people is Tosin who got the licence to organise TEDxUnilag and I am humbled to be on the organising team.

8. Also, excited about TPL which is happening December 20th.

How’s your weekend going

9 thoughts on “Random Ramblings on a Rainy Saturday

  1. Lagoon was piss poor. I had high hopes seeing her other books (Windseeker) got decent reviews on goodreads. Then when i saw Lagoon and read the synopsis? Sci-fi? From an african author? I was excited.

    Only to be dissapointed. So many things were wrong with that book. From the corny characters, to the cringe inducing dialogue and what passed as pidgin English. Clearly the author wasn’t born and bred in Nigeria from the disjointed way the characters communicated. Then the pacing. Half way, you begin to question – What’s the exact point? It just felt random and confusing and ultimately boring. At the end of the day, i struggled to finish it.

    Nigerian authors need to stop that corny shit. Annoying.

    Like

  2. 1. So cool that you get to plan TEDx!
    2. I LOVE Ghana Must Go. I’ve read it 3 times. 😛
    3. I think Nnedi is a bit of a troublemaker on the interwebs. She’s an artist and she’s sensitive about her shit, but Lagoon was really bad. Meh.

    Like

What Do You Think

