Half of a Yellow Sun – Movie Review (Sort of)

image

I first read Half of a Yellow Sun in 2007 when I was in JS2 because I read anything I could find and my mum had bought a copy. Then I reread it last year because I couldn’t remember anything except that they had to hide in bunkers during air raids.
I rated it 3 stars.

There was a lot of excitement about the release of the movie but I was disappointed.

What I liked
• The costumes. This was probably the best part of the movie.
• Anika Noni Rose’s depiction of Kainene.

image

• John Boyega’s depiction of Ugwu. He didn’t have much to work with, but he did a great job.
• The infusion of actual clips from the times before, during, and after the civil war

What I Didn’t Like
• What was that disco ball in the beginning. What?
•Ugwu was an important character in the book. The movie basically gave him a background role. You could have removed Ugwu from the movie and it wouldn’t have made a difference.
• Mrs Adebayo is supposed to be a loud mouthed Yoruba woman and she barely had any presence in the movie.
• OC Ukeje is bae. But what the hell. He said about two lines in the whole movie, but his face was on all the posters. Why?
• The movie felt empty. Like it was too condensed for them to fully explore and depict the characters. A lot of things were glossed over and it felt disjointed. I would not have minded if the movie was three hours long.

The movie fell flat. I didn’t feel any of the romance nor did I feel the tension of war except for the airport and wedding scenes.

I think I’d have enjoyed the movie more if I hadn’t read the book.

I’d rate the movie 2 stars out of 5

 

_____

There might be a 30 day challenge

The blog turned three a few days ago.

3 thoughts on “Half of a Yellow Sun – Movie Review (Sort of)

  1. I quite agree with you…. the movie fell below my expectations. Did I expect too much? Or maybe I’d have enjoyed it too if I hadn’t read the book earlier…. it was a good try though.

    Like

What Do You Think

