Epiphany

Yesterday, someone told me I’m a quitter and that I could do better. The exact words were: “You need to rid yourself of this “give up” attitude. You don’t seem like it, but you’re kind of a quitter. You can be so much more.”

I was indignant at first. I was like: “What do you know about me?” “How can you say things like this?” “How dare you?”

Then I thought about it. And he’s right. I used to be ambitious and I never gave up. I’d do whatever I needed to get what I wanted. I went for everything undaunted. I had big dreams.

I thought about my “tweet pattern.” Rants and complaints etc etc.

Lade you’re better than this. I should start thinking and doing instead of complaining and ranting about everything.
Stop worrying and crying about things that are beyond my control. Stop worrying and thinking about boyfriends. Or lack of one. Focus on what I can do to create change. In me. For me. For others too.

Do more. Achieve more.

In my thinking, I also realized that I need to learn to let go and let God.
Uche & Ibukun say this a often. “Lade you need to have faith and believe that there’s nothing too big (or small) for God”.
My usual response is okay. But I realise that I don’t put enough trust in God to do the things that He has promised.

I have been worrying about things I can’t control. Things I don’t know anything about and I have decided; starting from today. This moment. Now. I am going to leave it all in God’s hands.

I’ll stop ranting and whining and moaning about everything. Shut up and think. Do. Listen.

Take dance classes. Exercise. Yoga. Reflect. Discover my raison d’etre. Actively go after an internship at Psychiatric Hospital, Yaba or somewhere similar. Listen more. Learn something new. Read my bible. Meditate. Pray. Praise. Worship. Believe. Trust. Read even more. Find psychology books. Discover new authors. Improve my vocabulary. Travel. Discover new places. Buy a journal, or create a private WordPress blog to rant. Stop fretting over little things. Write. Stop worrying about money. Save.
Overcome inertia.
Basically DO.

Three songs played as I wrote this. “Free” “Brighter Day” and “Incredible God, Incredible Praise“.
And the lyrics resonate with me.
God is indeed incredible.

So I shall learn to shut my trap and do things instead.

Thanks to the person (people; really) who inspired this post.

**image from Mashable

Grace and Peace

8 thoughts on “Epiphany

  1. Lade, I can relate to this post. However, thank God that you’re desiring to move forward. You’re not a quitter, you never were. Time, and God’s perfect design just have a way of nudging you into His plan for your life. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family! πŸ™‚

    Like

What Do You Think

