Top 10 Books I Read In 2013

This is a list of my top 10 books of 2013 in no particular order.

1. From Rum To Roots by Lloyd G Francis

This book is a beautiful and well written story of Linton and Daisy. Two characters longing for something better than their small lives in Jamaica
Read my review here

2. The Hangman’s Replacement by Taona Dumisani Chiveneko

The author spins a web so deep and complex that you do not fully understand the connections between all the characters and the importance of each one until the you’ve closed the book.
Read my review here

3. The Poet by Michael Connelly

This is one of the best suspense novels I’ve ever read. It was very easy to follow and understand. No last minute, unnecessary drama.
Read my review here

4. Goodbye Nothing by Beck Sherman

I love horror novels. This is one of my favourites because it’s New Adult and it’s difficult to find New Adult books that aren’t paranormal or contemporary romance.
This book will leave you horrified and amazed. The descriptions are so vile and unimaginable.
Read my review here

5. The Measure of a Man by Sidney Poitier

This is an exciting, interesting and well written memoir.
You should read it. Even if you don’t like non fiction.
My review here

6. Love Carry My Bags by C.R. Everett

This is one of the most well written and realistic young adult/new adult books I’ve read. Ever.
It is a story of first loves, relationships and perseverance and it shows that everything eventually comes together.
Read my review here

7. Lottery by Patricia Wood

This is a really sweet and emotional story of the trials and triumphs of Perry L. Cardinal.

The book was on the Orange Prize Nominee for Fiction Shortlist.
It’s a really great read and highly recommended.

8. More Than This by Jay McLean

This is another great YA read from this year. This book is really enjoyable and is a great debut.
Read my review here

9. A Prescription for Delirium by Noree Cosper

I’m not a big fan of paranormal books but the blurb of this one grabbed my interest and it wasn’t a waste of time.
My review here

10. Bag of Bones by Stephen King

Surprisingly, I had never read a Stephen King novel until this one.
When I read this book, I was scared. The type of fear when you feel like someone is watching you. It was a great read.

BONUS: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

This is a quirky, likeable and enjoyable quick read. The whole book spans one day. This book is magical and will make you believe in love and romance.

This post is part of the 2013 roundup hosted by Two Chicks on Books

What Do You Think

