Bookish Links From Around The Web #3 [10/12/13 – 16/12/13]

@VerbosityRevws is having a giveaway
Win a book of up to $25 dollars from The Book Depository

Flavorwire’s List of The Greatest Essays on Writing Ever Written
Flavorwire has put together a list of essays for aspiring writers. Check it out

10 Young African Writers You Should Know
I have become slightly obsessed with African books and authors and I’m doing an African book reading challenge for 2014

12 Female Authors Every Woman (and Man) Must Know
Yay to girl power. These are 12 of the best female writers.
I don’t agree with the writer on Danielle Steel. I think all her books are the same with little differences here and there

The 10 Best Short Story Collections of 2013
Another list from Flavorwire; sharing their favourite short story collections published in 2013.

12 Classics That Are So Short You Have No Excuse Not To Read Them
Everyone wants to read classics. Not everyone has the time or patience to read classics [I’ve been battling with Anna Karenina for about 9 months now]. Huffington Post has compiled a list of 12 short and interesting classics you can read in no time

Flavorwire’s 15 Favorite Novels of 2013Flavorwire lists their 15 favourite books of 2013. I really want to read The Interestings. I have a copy of Americanah which I will attempt to read next year. I’ve been hearing more negative than positive reviews from friends.

I Don’t Care If You Dogear My Pages (And Other Confessions of a Failed Book Fanatic)
I’m sharing this because I really relate to this post. I really can’t be bothered if the movie strays from the book.

Riot Round-Up: The Best Books of 2013
Book Riot also has a roundup of their favourite books of 2013.
Americanah is also on this list

The 10 Best Nonfiction Books of 2013
Flavorwire. [Again!. I know].For fans of nonfiction.

Gift Guide: What to Buy the Highbrow Literature Lover Who’s Read Everything
So you have a friend you’re sure has read everything and you don’t know what to get for them. Flavorwire to the rescue

10 Controversial Short Stories
Ten controversial short stories. If you love controversy. And short stories.

What Do You Think

