REVIEW: Etoile by Olivia Besse

The Book

Source: free copy courtesy of author

Publish Date: July 25, 2013

Publisher: Wunderland Press

ASIN/ISBN: B00E4OH7PO

Format: ebook (mobi)

Pages: 244

Date Read: September 17, 2013

Note: Alternate/new cover edition (re issue under different name).

Description

From afar, Elodie Marais is just a typical 19-year old girl roughing it in Manhattan. She hates her job, her love life sucks and she’s totally getting ripped off by her landlord. Like most of her starry-eyed peers, she’ll do anything for the Triple P’s—Prada, a Promotion and the elusive Perfect Boyfriend. But Elodie and her friends aren’t your average new adults who are bored to tears by their uninspiring lives—they’re fashion models.

So what’s a girl to do when her life is turned upside down as two irresistible bachelors vie for her doe-eyed attention, just as she’s starting to make waves in the modelling world? Will she go with charming and sensitive James, a handsome financier, or reckless and unpredictable Tyler, the stunning male model du jour?

Follow Elodie’s adventures from Manhattan to Paris as she navigates the terrifying worlds that are the modeling industry and her love life, one effortlessly chic outfit at a time

Book 1 in the Mannequin Series

The Mannequin series is an exciting erotic romance journey that gives readers an intimate look into the not-so-glamorous sides of the fashion and modelling industries

My Review

The Cover

4 stars for the cover. I love it.

It’s really simple and nice. And I love the pop of colour with the red font.

The Characters

There are a lot of characters. The major ones are Elodie, Tyler & James [Love triangle]

I like Elodie. She’s brutally honest. Tyler is hoooot. I love his character. He’s cocky but not in a get-over-yourself-you-d*ck way. He has a smart mouth and is funny. And James. Oh sweet, loveable, charming James.

Other character’s are Tatiana, a funny, party loving girl from Belarus; Heddi, a more reserved beauty from Denmark and Jelena, whom we don’t know much about other than she’s Russian. These 3 girls are her friends and roommates

It’s so hard to pick who I want Elodie to be with. I love both James & Tyler and they do different things for her.

I think we didn’t really get to meet James. His character isn’t really developed.

The dynamic of Elodie & James’ relationship reminds me of Joshua & Melina’s in Won’t Last Long

The Story

I love the story. I love how it starts. It was like watching a movie.

I love that there are no billionaires or BDSM dungeons or tatted rock stars like we see in a lot of NA books lately.

I didn’t like the unnecessary constant descriptions, a lot of modelling references that didn’t need to be there, too much alcohol, too little food. Too much talk about food(or lack of it).

Cliffhanger. When I got to the end, I couldn’t believe it. I thought I didn’t download the book fully. It definitely left me wanting more. Looking forward to the next one in the series.

I love the writing style. Olivia Besse is amazing. She writes almost effortlessly. Her writing is edgy and gritty. This is a great debut by the author

The dialogue was snappy and funny and brought the characters to life

Generally

Sometimes, I forgot I was reading about a 19 year old. I loved a lot about the book. The author’s writing style reminds me of Jackie Collins.

This book contains explicit content and is not intended for younger readers!

Find The Author

Amazon || Facebook || Goodreads

Find The Book

Amazon || BN.com || Goodreads

Recommended To

If you love Jackie Collins, fashion, modelling and romance, this book is for you!

Rating

3.5 stars

What Do You Think

