REVIEW: The Ballerina and The Fighter by Ursula Sinclair

I received a free copy courtesy of the author.

Finished: September 11, 2013
Rating: 3 stars
Pages: 173
Format: ebook

The Book
I travel through life dancing.
All I ever wanted to do was dance, as did my best friend. We’d made so many plans together, but one night an explosion changed it all. Only one of us survived, and I promised myself I’d succeed for us both. And I did, until an accident almost ruined my career, but Maze came back into my life when I needed him most. He pulled me out of the depths of my despair. But could I save him now?

I travel through life fighting.
It had always been Ivy; from the first moment I saw her leaping through the air like she had wings to lift her from the ground. But she was my dream, something I wanted more than anything else in my life. I promised myself I would stay away from her. Violence followed me everywhere and I tried to keep her far away from it. She was my point of illumination in the dark tumultuous world I lived in. But I could not stay away from her. Not when I knew she needed me. As much as I needed her. But could she accept me as I am?

My Opinion
I expected a lot more from this book and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed.

The characters and the relationships they had were underdeveloped. The romance between Maze and Ivy was too rushed and could have been better.
I couldn’t connect with the story.
I think the best relationship in the book is the one between Maze and his dad.

There was a lot of repetition whenever the author switched POVs. It kind of pulled me out because I wanted to skip the parts.

I didn’t like Maze, per the romance. By the second page, he was already thinking “sexy” things. By the ninth, he seemed like a leery, creepy, disturbing guy. All this within 5 minutes of meeting Ivy.
As a fighter, I loved him. I liked the fight scenes best.

The blurb makes it seem like her friend’s death was important to their story. IMO, it wasn’t.

I also think that the last line was unnecessary. The book could have ended blissfully without the last line.

All in all, the plot had a lot of potential and it could have done a lot better. It was an okay read.

This book contains explicit scenes

Get it from
Amazon
BN.com
Diesel Books
Half.com
Kobo
Smashwords
Sony Bookstore

**blurb and image from goodreads

What Do You Think

