Say My Name

Allo!

So, one Daily Post about 2 weeks ago.

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

I loooooooooooooove my first name. It’s a great conversation starter. Whenever people meet me they’ll be like: “what’s your name?” I’ll answer ‘Lade’. Then they’ll mention one of the more popular long forms of the name. ‘Lolade*? Omolade**? Demilade***? Or sometimes, they say Laide****

My name is Oluwadeaduramilade. It is a Yoruba name. Not a very common one. It literally means “God has crowned my prayers with a crown” but the idea is that ‘God has answered my prayers’.

It could be a request. As in “God answer my prayers” but I think my dad means it as a statement.

I don’t know about other Nigerian tribes but for the Yorubas, at the naming ceremony, EVERYBODY gets to name the child and there’s a sheet of paper or a book where all the names are written. When we moved, I found mine. And I have A LOT of names. Almost 30 I think.

I have another ‘Lade’ name Tiwalade. It means “the crown is ours” I guess.

*Lolade = Ololade = a person of wealth/riches/importance has come
**Omolade literally means A child is a crown. = a child is important
***Demilade literally means “crown me with a crown.”
****Laide is ‘short’ for Olaide and I have absolutely no idea what it means. This is also one of my many names.

I’ll just stop now. I don’t even understand how this post became this long.

Today’s bible verse is from James 2:17 – In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

Grace and Peace

4 thoughts on “Say My Name

  1. Yoruba names are beautiful and make sense, I like your names. My full name is Oluwabamiseyi, and i use it as a prayer point, my mum hates when i shorten it to bamise or bamie

    Like

  2. You have great names. My father-in-law (my husband is yoruba) named all his children and grandchildren an ‘Ade’ name. So there are a lot of Ade-somethings in our family. LOL

    Like

What Do You Think

