What Should We Celebrate

I wasn’t planning on doing a “Democracy Day post”. First, I heard Reuben Abati’s comment on why the president & his entourage didn’t say amen when Rev Akinola said that corrupt politicians will face the court of God. or something similar.
Yesterday, I was looking at pictures of Lagos/Nigeria from the past (1960s). I was angry but I just shrugged and forgot about it.
Then today I was “reading” GEJ’s speech on my timeline.
Then I got very angry.

What exactly is the problem with Nigeria.
When did it become so bad. When did it come to this. I remember last Democracy Day. Everyone was shouting “Happy Democracy Day” (remember that this was after the elections). Everyone was carrying something green on their car or wearing a piece of green clothing.

This year, if not for the public holiday and GEJ’s speech, I wouldn’t have remembered that today is/was Democracy day. No blackberry personal message updates. No tweets. No display pictures signifying democracy day. No broadcast messages. Nothing.

The other day, when I heard Reuben Abati’s comment, I was just sad. According to him, it is in the constitution that: “The president is only allowed a certain number of amens/amis”. What kind of lame excuse is that. C’mon. Do you think we are stupid. Couldn’t you think of something better. Oya, let’s even assume this is true. Why didn’t he give us the exact number? Who was counting when they were praying? See? No sense. None. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Zero.

When I saw those pictures of Lagos/Nigeria from when my grandmother was still young, in the words of someone else, “I became nostalgic for something I didn’t experience/see/have”.
I wondered why my country had become like this. I wondered what happened to the beauty of my country. I could almost feel the serenity & happiness from the pictures. I’ve always thought that we got our independence a little too early. And I still haven’t been convinced otherwise.

Then GEJ gave his stupid speech. And I’m angry. Very angry. Why do we have leaders that are so stupid. Why do we have leaders that do not have focus. Why do we have self-absorbed leaders. Why do we have leaders with no sense of direction. Why do we have leaders who aren’t leaders. I’m angry. I’m pained.

I think, what am I celebrating today. What is there for me to celebrate today. What is there for us to celebrate at all. I’m tired of hearing: “we should be happy that we haven’t divided”. or “at least, we are still one country”. This is not enough for me anymore. I want more than that. I want good education. A good society. Social amenities and most importantly useful and sensible leaders.

GEJ changed University Of Lagos (UNILAG) to Moshood Abiola University. Yes, Abiola was a great man. Yes, he won the June 12 election but he wasn’t recognized. Yes, he was killed unjustly. Yes, nigerians (yorubas) want him to be recognized. But that is the least of our worries now. There is Boko Haram to live with. There is the fact that there is no electricity. There is the fact that people are dying from hunger, malnutrition, thirst & poverty everyday.

Should I not be worried about my future? Should I not be worried about the future of my country? When the youths are angry because the name of their school was changed and not because of the irrelevance of the change. When the President of my country thinks the most important thing for him to do now is to change the name of a university when there are so many other problems facing this country.

I am angry. How did it get so bad. The generations before me have failed me and my country. Will my generation fail my country? Will I fail my country?

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

Have A Great Day 😀

9 thoughts on “What Should We Celebrate

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

  2. wow!! honestly, i don’t know what to say. We should all just keep praying for our nation and quit complaining. Just keep doing the things required of us by God and definitely the RIGHT time would come when we would never have to be pained or worried because of Nigeria(ns).

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on flotalks and commented:
    Lade… I’m with you on this but let’s at least respect the fact that Moshood Abiola needs to be celebrated in one way or another… The timing is just wrong!

    Like

  4. Hmmmmn. My dear, I got really angry during the subsidy period too.

    The truth is that the issues with this country are not ordinary. There’s more to it than meets the eye. Its just……. Smh complex.

    Like

What Do You Think

