The ‘F’ Word

Before we go into today’s post, we would like to apologize because there was no post last week Saturday and this Saturday. It was due to some technicalities and the terrible network in this country. (I’ve been trying to upload this post since yesterday 2pm). Anyways, so that we can reduce the occurence of things like this, I’ve decided to change posting time from 9am on Saturday to 12pm on Saturday 12pm = noon

Today’s post is ny the very funny @TheFakeEsse

___________
Before I start, let me say a big thank you to Lade for being so kind to me even when I was behaving like an over chewed wad of gum. I should have sent this to her weeks ago.

But I’m here now so, goody! (I know y’all are eggzited.) It’s been almost 2 months since I wrote anything and I hope I still remember how to. The F word here refers to Friendship! Yes! What else? Get your ugly minds out of the sewage. So, I’ll be brief and I’ll be to the point.

I saw something once, I can’t remember where (I’m pretty sure it was Twitter though.) Anyway, I can’t remember exactly how they said it, but it was along the lines of “nature makes mistakes by not adding some people to your blood line, but tries to rectify that mistake by making them trusted friends.” Or something like that. Anyway, I think we can all agree that we have those friends that are closer to us than anyone in our family could ever hope to be. I don’t know how these things happen. They just do. That one friend you would tell everything, go everywhere with, do everything with (or to.)

Now, most people who know me will immediately assent that I am more friendly and outgoing than the regular person (if you like yimu). I do not necessarily agree with them sha (I consider myself extremely shy, and nervous when it comes to people). I mean, let’s face it, people can be downright appalling even at their best. They’re selfish, egotistical, and just plain rude. *Sigh* Wait! I digress.

If I had my way, I’d be fine on my own. I’d hang out with myself, not talk to anyone, and scratch my back by myself. But, I wasn’t made to be alone. I’m an ultrasocial being with the need to mix with other humans. Of course, some people are just wired strangely and seem to thrive better alone (or they smell.) Again, I digress.

I’m just going to talk from personal experience; what I know about friends, and what I’ve learned.

I’m not always the best of friends. I tend to mess up a lot. A lot of times when I mess up, I mess up pretty big. I think I’m blessed to have the friends I have. Because sometimes, I think to myself, “These people deserve someone better.” That’s not to say I’m completely useless (don’t start getting ideas.) But they’re very quick to forgive. Now I know sometimes, it’s hard. And sometimes, a person messes up so bad you don’t think you can ever forgive them. And yes, there are situations where damage is practically irreparable. But this is the thing: true friends forgive. No one’s perfect, but as long as the person is TRULY sorry, forgive them. Life is too short and YOLO anyway. *Shrug*

I never have mood swings. I don’t really understand them. They actually disgust me. I know you’re reading this and saying, “Please. Are you saying you’re happy all the time? *RME*”

Yes.

Seriously. Something happens to me, I get upset, hurt, maybe even angry, but then I deal with it, and I move the fuck on. However, not everyone was wired this way. I wonder why. I have friends whose moods oscillate so bad they’re like the grandfather clock that won’t stop. I don’t get it, but I don’t sweat it (BARS!) :|. I just allow them do what they need to do, and help in any way I can to change their moods. Some people need ice cream, others need a good hug. For some others, you just need to wait it out. What I’m saying is I get my friends. I don’t get upset because they’re in one of their moods. “Getting” each other is very important.

I’ve sacrificed potential wonderful knacking sessions because my friend didn’t want me to leave her in the club alone. TMI? TMI. OK. Moving on… I’ve given a lot just to make my friends happy. At one time or another, they’ve done the same for me. Friends make sacrifices for each other. Cos that’s what they do. (note how she said ‘each other’. Don’t be a mumu)

Now I cannot overemphasize this one enough. See, we all have our baggage, our personal problems, yada yada. And a lot of times, all we want to do is talk about ourselves, our problems, we think our boyfriend is cheating, that guy dey owe me money, etc. Well, here’s a piece of advice for you: how about you shut up for one second and listen. Because that’s what friends do. It can’t (and shouldn’t) always be about you all the time. Friendship IS a two-way street after all.

Which brings me to this: I still believe in such a thing as personal space. I’d like to believe that other people do too. We’re best friends doesn’t mean we have to be together 24/7. Maybe some of you roll like that, and if you’re all comfortable with it, then that’s cool. If not, learn to give your friends breathing space. Don’t be a smothering mother-in-law. I’m not your babysitter, I’m your friend. I’ll take care of you, but sometimes, I would just like to be by myself, maybe with my thoughts, or my God, or my novel, or my damn boyfriend. Yes, I said it. I don’t know where some of you (and this is for the girls) got the idea that you come before my boyfriend. Now, I’m not saying that you don’t. I’m just saying please, don’t be taking me on guilt trips saying, “Hmm! You left me to go and stay with man abi?” Yes, I left you for man. Now, go and get yours.

Real friends allow their friends to knack in peace. -_-

Now, I know there are a lot of things that real friends do (or don’t do) that I didn’t mention, but please, bear with me – I’m tired and sleepy, and I told you I’m not the best of friends.

Finally, I would like to take this moment to appreciate my real friends. If you’re reading this, you know yourselves. I REALLY do love you guys.

____________

Next week’s post is by @Cumical. It has been in my mail for a while now but I didn’t find it and I was too tired to transfer everything to wordpress

Oh and please don’t forget to subscribe to the blog πŸ˜€

11 thoughts on “The ‘F’ Word

  1. 1. Because I’m semi-psychic, I totally knew the “F” word here was “Friendship” b4 I started reading. 😎

    2. I need a new friend. A fresh one. Pretty one. Preferably with lesbian tendencies. We wud have so much fun 2getha. ^_^

    Like

  2. Had me laughing and giggling at some point. Some valid points were made.
    Yes. Real friends let their friends knack in peace. Nice one.

    Like

  3. All this knacking my babe is talking about. Don’t be bringing our business out here like this.
    And YES, all of you that are her friends, please allow us knack in peace.

    Thanks. Management.

    Like

What Do You Think

