Cultural Identity

What is culture? What is our cultural identity
If i remember my social studies well, Culture is the way of life of a (group of) people. Your identity is your sense of self. Culture has already been defined. Therefore your cultural identity is your sense of self in relation to your way of life (culture)
Many of us are not proud of who we are. We aren’t proud of our cultures. You should be proud of who you are as a Nigerian. Whether you are Igbo, Yoruba, Hausa, Efik, Tiv, Ibibio and so on.
Me personally, I love my culture. I’m a yoruba girl and I’m proud of that fact. I love to wear iro and buba and tie gele. I love traditional food. I love watching Yoruba films. I love going to traditional weddings and if i had to choose only one type of wedding, i’ll definitely go for traditional. I love listening to and singing traditional songs. I’m not a tribalist. I have Igbo and Hausa friends and i love them just as much as my Yoruba friends. (I did Igbo from JS1 to JS3. I can speak Igbo to an extent and i know a few words in Hausa)
I’m not saying we should go over the top with our cultural beliefs or that we should become tribalists. Or that you should go and learn all the languages. No. I’m saying that we should be proud of our cultures and traditions. We shouldn’t discriminate against people of other cultures. It all boils down to loving one another and trying to understand one another.
In a blog i read a while ago, the author of the blog said (not exactly in these words sha but you get the idea) languages are the cause of most of our problems and that even in the bible, God created languages to create confusion for the people trying to build the tower of babel. I see her point but i say the problem is not the different languages we have and it’s not the difference in our cultures. The problem is the people that speak the different languages. The people that hide behind these cultures/tribes. All in all, we should be proud of our individual cultures/tribes

PS: it’s 11:40pm. There may be gbagauns in this post so try to ignore them.

PSS: I’ll start my 30 day challenge on the first of September.

Have a lovely day 🙂
Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

4 thoughts on “Cultural Identity

What Do You Think

